CIBC Run for the Cure

Happy Saturday everyone!

I just signed up for the CIBC Run for the Cure. It’s a 5K run to support breast cancer research. This will be my first 5K and I’m already so excited! It’s next month, October 4, 2009.

I just thought I’d write a little about why I’m running. My mom’s best friend lost her mom to breast cancer when she was in her late teens. Years later, when my mom’s friend was in her 40s, she was diagnosed as well. It hit my mom really hard and of course, knowing my mom’s friend well, it was difficult for me and my dad too. She’s been really strong throughout the whole process and I’m happy to say she’s doing well with it at this point, but there have been some scary moments. So it means a lot to me to be able to raise money in hopes that it will help people like my mom’s friend and all the others out there who have breast cancer.

I’ve set a fund raising goal of $150, but I would love to be able to raise even more. If anyone on BTL would like to sponsor me, it would be greatly appreciated! It’s a great cause and whatever you can donate is fine. Every little bit can help! If you go to the link below, you can donate online using a credit card.

Click here to go to the donation page.

Thanks so much to everyone and I can’t wait until next month!

Leave a Reply

