Setting goals

Today’s topic of the Summer Glow Boot Camp was setting goals. I am a goal-oriented person. Setting goals helps me stay motivated while doing tasks that sometimes seem pointless otherwise. For example, reading a 400 page textbook in 3 months is part of getting to my goal of finising my undergraduate degree so I can attend graduate school. So this type of exercise is right up my alley.

First step, three accomplishments that I’m proud of:

1) Finishing my undergraduate thesis.

This was a huge undertaking. I worked on this project for nine months and logged countless hours reading journal articles, applying for ethics review, budgeting my grant money, training my assistants, teaching kids reading skills, scoring reading assessments, entering data and finally writing the whole document! I really doubted my abilities to follow through at many points in the process but when I finished, I felt like I could take on anything!

2) Losing 40 pounds.

It’s more than just about the number. It’s about the lifestyle that came with it and how much healthier I’ve become. I feel stronger, healthier, more confident and happier overall.

3) Taking up running.

Running has allowed me to reach a whole new level of fitness. Being able to run makes me feel so empowered and strong. Each new personal best makes me feel amazing!

Step two, three goals I want to achieve in July:

1) Tone up.

I think this will make me feel better about my body as there are some areas that I nitpick for being too flabby.

2) Read my psychopharmacology textbook.

I enrolled in this class in second year as it was a special topics class not usually offered at the school. But unfortunately, after the first midterm it was kicking my butt! I ended up dropping it since I was afraid of failing it (and since my program is competitive and requires a B to B- to guarantee yearly progression, failing one class does matter a lot). However, I found it really interesting and would love to learn more to increase my knowledge!

3) Further my German skills.

I love German. So much. But during school I haven’t had much time to work on my language skills. Now that summer is here I want to commit more of my time to it with the goal of eventually being nearly fluent in it.

Step three, what type of deadline I’d like for the goals:

1) By August 1st I’d like to see my legs and stomach looking more toned. I’d also hopefully like to lose some inches!

2) I’ll give myself until September 13th (the day before back to school). The textbook is 1) long and 2) very technical in some parts so it’s not exactly light reading and I might need some time to finish it.

3) By September 13th, I’d like to have covered 2-3 more chapters in the German textbook I bought for my class last year. I think this would bring me to chapter 6 or 7 in the book, just a little under halfway through.

Finally, planning:

1) I’m going to increase my strength exercises for my lower body and add more core work like planks into my workouts.

2) I’m going to work on reading about a chapter every week or so, although I’m not necessarily sticking to that for sure as I still have an actual class to do work for until August 1st.

3) I’ll do a quick review of what I’ve already learned in the book and then work through one chapter every couple weeks. Again, until August 1st I’m not making myself stick to the timeline exactly because of school obligations.

So there are some goals and these are things I’ve been wanting to do for a while. Hopefully now that I’ve publicly commited myself to them, I’ll act on them! There’s psychology at work for you 😉

Are you a goal-setter? Do you have any specific goals in mind right now? Are there any recent goal accomplishments that you’re really proud of?

Leave a Reply

