40 down

I have officially lost 40 pounds! When I started losing weight, I don’t think I ever could have imagined losing that much!

I know I’m technically in maintenance mode right now but I told myself I’d be okay with losing a couple more pounds as long as I wasn’t consciously trying to diet. And I haven’t been, so I’m completely fine with dropping a few more pounds. I think it’s mainly due to being busy! When I’m keeping busy, I don’t have as much time to snack and I’m also on my feet more.

My limit is 130 though – I don’t want to go below that since I have a larger frame and there are already some areas on my body that are quite slim at my current weight so I don’t think my body would be comfortable weighing less than that. I’m still not 100% satisfied with my legs but I’m trying to love them the way they are. I carry my weight in my hips and thighs and I always have so I’m sure even if I got down to a much lower weight, my thighs would still be a little larger…. but I’m trying to be okay with them the way they are. I don’t want my thighs to be the reason I think I should lose more weight. I could be stuck in that trap forever!

I know a lot of us struggle with that one (or two) body part that no matter how much weight we’ve lost, it still bothers us in some way. For me, it’s my thighs (and about once a week my stomach joins the club). I know others are frustrated with not having a flat stomach after losing a lot of weight. The list could go on and I’m sure we could all add our own less-than-perfect body part.

But really, why do we beat ourselves up over that not so flat stomach or larger thighs? I know I sometimes lose sight of the bigger picture – the weight I’ve already lost and how much healthier I am because of my new eating and exercise habits. I know so many people have come really far in their weight loss journey and I think we should be proud of that and focus on it, rather than think “if I lost another 5 pounds, my stomach would look the way I want it to” or obsess over an area on the body that isn’t perfectly toned and slim or think we have to be skinny to be healthy and beautiful.

Reaching your weight loss goal does not automatically make you love your body. I’ve learned this since achieving my goal weight as, like I said, there are days when I still find things to nitpick. I think you have to find that acceptance within yourself and realize that being a certain weight doesn’t equate to happiness. I think you have to look at yourself and see the things you love rather than the things that you consider flaws (easier said than done, I know).

So today, be proud of what you’ve accomplished and don’t let that one body part bother you. When you look at the big picture, we’ve come so far and your stomach, hips, thighs, etc aren’t going to change that!

One Response to 40 down

  1. Kristie says:

    Awesome post girlie. Huge CONGRATS on the weight loss, that’s SO great. And I totally agree with you, losing weight does NOT automatically make your body perfect to you. No matter how great you are, you’ll always ALWAYS find some flaw eh? We just need to ACCEPT things as they come. I’ve learned that slowly but surely. Some days I love my body flaws and all and some days I can’t stand any part of it. It’s so up and down and so frustrating. As long as I’m doing the right things though, eating the right foods and keeping up with good exercise, then I feel pretty darn good about myself. I think it’s the good habits that make you feel your best, knowing you’re treating your body right.
    It’s great that you’ve basically got to your goal weight and are accepting it. I have the thigh thing too! I’ve always had “powerful” thighs – strong, muscly… and big. But now I LIKE them (more or less haha) because I know they are really strong. And I just enhance that by working them plenty with running speed walking on inclines and plenty of squats. Nothing wrong with some good strong THUNDER thighs 😉

Leave a Reply

