Disrupting the routine

My week has been crazy so far and it’s only Tuesday!

I started my new research job, which involves driving to Stratford a couple days a week. It’s a pretty long day considering I’m up early and then not home until just before dinner. After being out of school for a little bit and not having regular work, it kind of threw me. I’ve been so used to working out in the mornings, but I’m not crazy about getting up super early to work out before heading out, so I’ve missed out.

Plus, my right leg was bothering me a lot today, after being a little sore over the weekend. I have a suspicion that it’s from my new shoes – I think they’re lacking in support overall so standing for a good part of the day probably didn’t do it any good considering it was already hurting a bit. That and I was lugging around several cameras and tripods so I was probably putting an extra 20 pounds of weight on it. At any rate, I’ve been resting it as much as possible over the past couple days. The most I’ve done other than necessary walking, was taking a trip down to the grocery store a couple blocks away. It held up pretty well but it might be a little longer before I get back into running. I don’t want to end up with a severe injury, considering right now I think my muscles are just a little overworked and sore.

As a result, I’ve been trying to eat a little lighter since I’m not burning an extra 300-400 calories per day through exercise. It’s a little tricky, especially considering I’ve been stressed about finding another part-time job lately, and I’m definitely a stress eater! Thankfully I’ve been taking salads for lunch instead of eating sandwiches and I don’t typically have an afternoon snack when working because I’m in the middle of note-taking or driving at my usual snacky time.

Hopefully my leg starts feeling better ASAP. I’m feeling a little stir crazy when I get home in the evenings because I’m missing exercise but obviously I don’t want to push things. I might go for a short 10-15 minute walk on the treadmill tomorrow afternoon if things are feeling beter and work upwards from there if it’s all good.

I also have to buy a bridal shower gift for my friend. She’s getting married next Saturday (geez that came up fast!) and her bridal shower is this Friday. I’ve never been to one before so I’m excited and it’s at this place that serves amazing desserts (or so I’ve heard). Sounds like it might be a test of my willpower but it’s a special occasion so I’ll see if I can find room for a treat!

I’m off to bed – no work tomorrow but I signed up for a research study so my time slot is bright and early tomorrow. Thankfully I’m getting paid!

Leave a Reply

