Homemade sweet potato fries

So I loved the sweet potato fries at Boston Pizza so much that I had to try making my own last night!

I browsed a few recipes online to get an idea of spices and came up with this, based on what was already in my spice cupboard:

  • oregano
  • salt
  • ground coriander

Cumin was also another popular seasoning, as well as paprkia, so cominbations of any of these would probably be delicious!

First, I preheated the oven to 425F. I sliced the potato in half, then cut it in long strips, which were halved again to make pretty thick-cut fries – definitely like what you’d get at a chip truck. I mixed up the spices with a couple tablespoons of olive oil (light tasting extra virgin but other types would probably be just as good) and rolled each fry in the oily mixture before putting it on a non-stick baking sheet (some recipes suggested parchment if your baking sheet isn’t super non-stick). Toss the fries in the oven for about 30 minutes, turning every 10 minutes and rotating the pan in the oven – do this or they’ll be black on one side! Even turning them, I still had some that ended up a little toasty!

I served them up with some homemade dip – light mayo with ground coriander stirred in – but they were still tasty plain.

Et voila:

img_4148

I decided to have them as the main feature of my meal with some broccoli and cauliflower (with some grated sharp cheddar) on the side – you can just barely see them hanging out in the corners of the picture.

Sweet potato fries are my new addiction. So tasty!

In super awesome great news: I finished the first draft of my thesis! AHHH! Huge relief. My supervisor is taking off to Spain tomorrow (ugh… if only) so I had to have it in today if I wanted edits before May 13 when she gets back – um, yes please considering my mark is due by May 22. I can’t belive I’m so close to having it done!

Today is supposed to be a hot one! Not sure what to do on the exercise front – it’s already hot hot hot in my bedroom where the elliptical is. I do have a window air conditioner but it seems so wrong to need to use it in April! We’ll see – I’ll try with just a fan blowing and throw the A/C on if it gets too hot. I thought about a run but it’s already 19C at 9:30am! Holy moly! I know that’s not blazing hot, but it is when we’ve been used to 10-12C for the past while. That’s one reason I’m looking forward to getting the treadmill from my parents – I hate being all warm and sweaty and gross while working out, which is why I probably won’t run outside too often in summer.

Hope everyone has a great Saturday!

One Response to Homemade sweet potato fries

  1. Kristie says:

    Mmmmmm sweet potato fries! I have some sweet potato wedges roasting in the oven right now. 🙂

    I can’t believe how lovely hot it got today! There was a nice breeze though so it was kind of perfect temperatures. What a turn around in weather though, now it’s crazy raining!

    I hear this summer is going to be insanely hot… I wanted to start running outside (never really done it before. I’m definitely treadmill bound) but if it’s already getting this hot this early that might not be much of an option!

Leave a Reply

