Quinoa experiment

Well, I successfully made quinoa last night! Unfortunately I don’t have a picture – apparently the rechargeable batteries in my camera are dead!

Here’s what I used:

  • 1/3 c quinoa (this was a guess as most recipes were for side dishes)
  • 2ish c of chopped veggies (I used broccoli and carrots)
  • 2 c veggie stock

I brought the veggie stock to a boil while I rinsed the quinoa – this removes the bitter outter coating. Some varieties come pre-washed but I didn’t want to take my chances! I added the quinoa to the veggie stock and cooked it over medium-high heat for 7 minutes. Then I added the chopped veggies and let the mixture boil for another 5-6 minutes. I drained the small amount of leftover liquid very carefully. After throwing a tablespoon of stir fry sauce (Asian 5 Spice flavour) on top, I was ready to eat.

Overall impressions: It’s definitely a different texture but I enjoyed it! The veggie stock made the whole dish quite flavourful and the stir fry sauce added a slight kick. Considering how easy it was to make, I think it’ll be a great dish for nights when I don’t have much time.

Check out the nutritional info per 1/2 cup:

  • 317 calories
  • 5 g fat
  • 6 g fibre
  • 12 g protein
  • It also gives you 42% of your RDA for magnesium and 21% of your iron!

Looks pretty good to me!

As a final FYI, Bulk Barn sells organic quinoa. I found it in the cereals aisle, right beside granolas. If you’re new to quinoa it’s a perfect way to buy just a little bit to sample!

Leave a Reply

