It’s smoothie time!

After talking to my roommate about my weigh-in and gain of 2.2 pounds, he said he thinks the Wii Fit (what I use to weigh with) might be out to lunch. It told him he gained 7 pounds in a week. Yeah, right. So, the scale in the balance board seems to be wonky. We decided to go splits on a new scale for the bathroom and when I jumped on it Tuesday morning, it said 137.5. Now that’s more like it!

I also got something else new! My mom knew I wanted a blender, so when she saw Zellers had an Oster for $30 – half price – she told me to go ahead and buy it, and when she and my dad visit next week, she’d give me the money for it. How sweet is my mom? She knows I’m a little strapped for cash right now – or at least until I get my tax return (the tax man and I are now BFF considering how much my return is – yay!)

So of course, I had to try making my very own green monster inspired by Angela at Oh She Glows !

First of all, here’s my new blender:

img_4129

And here’s my ingredient lineup:

img_4132

  • plain soy milk (about 1/2 cup)
  • a handful and a bit of organic spinach
  • a couple strawberries just because
  • a banana – I used half

And the result?

img_4134

Now that’s green! (Excuse the awful mess on my desk)

I think my boyfriend was freaked out by this – I don’t blame him. I was a little scared too! Haha! But the taste was nice – I couldn’t taste the spinach. All I tasted was banana with a hint of strawberry every now and then. Mmm!

I’m going to do some more experimenting with smoothies – I found some recipes online for fruit smoothies and they’re all pretty healthy. Most of them are sweetened by a bit of yogurt or honey, or they’re just plain fruit. If anyone has recipes of their own, definitely let me know! I’m looking forward to increasing my fruit and veggie intake this way and of course making some tasty iced treats in the summer!

I’m now off to make some tea – African red – then run some errands on this grey and rainy day. I need to go to Bulk Barn and then the Bell store to see if I can score a promotional cellphone plan I found online. Let’s hope so, since I think it’s for new subscribers only, but we’ll see!

2 Responses to It’s smoothie time!

  1. Angela says:

    YUM!!! That IS green. Love it!

  2. ivenxadytia says:

    also happy to read-read blog
    always successful

Leave a Reply

