Leave me alone, school!

I made a list of school deadlines the other day and posted it on my wall. I really wish I hadn’t. Yeah, it’s nice to see what I’ve got coming up but it’s very overwhelming. I’ve only crossed off 2 things out of 8 things I have to get done by the end of the school term (this is before my one exam and when my final thesis paper is due in April). Yikes! I though it would be motivating – you know, I see how much stuff I need to do and it jump starts me – but it’s not been working.

Instead, I feel so stressed. I’m deciding whether or not I should leave it up. I want to be organized but I don’t want to feel panicked every time I look to my left!

The last month of school is always so crazy! I just need to tell myself that this will all be over soon. After March 26 (poster conference… eek), I have one paper due (just a shortie, only 4-6 pages), one exam and my final thesis. I’ll have one month to do all that. If I can survive all the stuff I have now, that will be a breeze.

Last night my housemate wanted to get out for a run – he just bought new shoes (Nike+ compatible) and some jogging pants so he was itching to get out even though the weather was ridiculous. I thought about being lazy and lounging the rest of the night after finishing my seminar paper, but I’d glad I got out. I swear I’ve already built up some stamina – and I’m going to have to if I want to keep up with my housemate. He’s not super in shape, but he’s 6’3. I’m 5’3 so I set the pace and it’s much easier for him to keep up with me because his stride length is longer so he can go a little slower. So he actually ran for a couple minutes straight each time I ran. I think it’ll be nice to have a running buddy so we can keep each other going.

He’s also willing to sign up for the CIBC Run for the Cure with me in October. I checked out the website and the date is already up – Sunday, October 4th. So, lots of time to get ready for that. Technically, you can walk the 5k as well, but I’d like to be able to run all of it. So that’s a longer term fitness goal for me!

3 Responses to Leave me alone, school!

  1. Kristie says:

    I wrote out some of the stuff I have to get done as well. I always manage to stress myself out by thinking ahead, yet it’s unavoidable. Sigh!

    Good luck with the running! Signing up for the 5k is a great idea. I’m sure you’ll have no trouble at all working up to running the whole distance by October. Have you ever heard of the Couch to 5k Running Plan?(http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml) I’ve heard about it a lot before, might be worth checking out.
    I’m impressed by the fact that you are able to get yourself out and running outside in this chilly weather already. I can hardly stand walking out the door let alone getting out and running in it. I hate the cold haha.

    • Valerie says:

      I’ve heard of the couch to 5k program. I might give it a shot.
      I honestly have no idea how I manage to get out in the cold. Sometimes I hate even walking from my car to the school when it’s freezing out. It had better warm up soon! Or at least stop randomly snowing!

Leave a Reply

