Soup Adventure!

Since I have no Friday classes and for once didn’t have to be on campus for any meetings, I decided to try out the sweet potato soup recipe I was given!

So, here we go!

img_3865

Ingredients, assemble! I adapted the recipe somewhat from the original since there were some ingredients I didn’t have (such as celery, since I don’t enjoy it raw), so here’s what I used:

2 medium/large sweet potatoes
1/2 onion (Spanish I believe, but the type doesn’t really matter)
Handful baby carrots
1/3 c brown rice
1/2 tbsp olive oil
4-5 cups chicken broth (use less for thicker soup, more for thinner; you can also use vegetable broth)
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander seeds
1/2 tsp ground ginger
Pepper to taste

Step 1: Slice up the veggies. Doesn’t matter how big/small you slice them because it’s all going into a food processor later, but I do recommend making sure the sweet potato slices aren’t too big or they’ll take a while to cook.

img_3866

Step 2: Put the olive oil, onion and brown rice into the pot like so and let the onions brown slightly over medium-high heat for a couple minutes.

img_3868

Step 3: In go the potatoes, carrots and chicken broth. Bring this to a boil, and then turn back the heat to let it simmer. Add in your spices now. You’ll want to let it simmer for about 40-45 minutes or until the veggies are soft and the rice is cooked.

img_3869

Here it is all cooked down. Mmm!

Now you’ll want to blend it up in a food processor. Just transfer over small amounts at a time. When you’re done, you’ll have something like this:

img_3870

I sampled some and it’s quite nice. I love the flavour of the spices in it. I’m planning on having some soup with my dinner tonight!

2 Responses to Soup Adventure!

  1. Kristie says:

    Soup from scratch, I’m impressed! It looks really good. I never bother to make soup from scratch because it always seems like such a hassle but that soup looks pretty do-able. I’ll have to save the recipe 🙂

    • Valerie says:

      This is actually my first time making homemade soup – I usually think it’s too much work but this recipe is pretty simple. It takes a while but once everything is in the pot, it only needs to be stirred a couple times, so you can get other stuff down around the kitchen while it cooks.

Leave a Reply

