Hello March!

I can’t believe it’s already March. On one hand I’m glad that spring (and summer) are that much closer, but on the other hand it means I have a lot of school work coming up and those end of term deadlines will be here before I know it! I have a lot of prep to do for the thesis poster conference at school (on March 26.. less than a month away now) – writing my abstract, making the poster and writing a handout. The handout is essentially a more simplified version of my thesis – but it can only be 5 pages single-spaced. This may seem like a lot of room to work with but my proposal (which doesn’t even include full results or a discussion) was 16 pages (19 with references). Yeah, I’m going to have a lot of editing to do to stay within the page limit.

Overall I had a productive weekend. Yesterday I got a new pair of jeans (on sale at Old Navy) and dress shoes to wear for job interviews. They’re pretty nice and they’re backless so they will still be good to wear in the summer. Plus they were only $30! I tried on a pair of size 8 jeans at Old Navy but they didn’t fit (they buttoned but would not have been comfortable to wear). At first I was discouraged but then I remembered that I only bought a pair of size 10’s at the end of January so it’s doubtful I would have shrunk another size, considering my weight loss is no more than 1 pound per week. So I’m okay with it and I know I’ll get there soon enough. Today was grocery day and I bought tons of fresh fruits and veggies – peaches, bananas, strawberries, broccoli, baby carrots, asparagus, sweet potatoes and spinach. I also bought more sunflower flax bread because I love it and it’s not that much more expensive than regular brown bread (although you get a few less slices I think). But it’s way better for you – more fibre, more protein, omegas, more magnesium and other vitamins and minerals. I think it will be a regular purchase from now on, especially when it’s on sale (they have 2 for $4 sales of it at Zehrs every couple of weeks).

Last night I had fun. We didn’t end up going out anywhere, but we stayed in and played Rock Band 2. My roommate has a Wii and we all split on the cost of Rock Band 1 when he moved in and then buying Rock Band 2 was much cheaper since we already had all the instruments. For the amount of entertainment we get from it, it was well worth the money!

I have good news on the Nike+ front. One of the lovely ladies over at Blog To Lose told me that you can get the Sportband in Canada, at SportChek at least. So that’s good! I’m still not sure I can buy just the chip and not the kit (that comes with the iPod plug-in). I’ll have to look into that, but either way it will cost $80-100 for this. So I’ll need to find out how much I’m getting back on my tax return before I go spending. And I want to make sure I’m going to stick with running before I go dropping that much money.

Tomorrow is weigh-in day. I’m excited for it and dreading it all at the same time. I’m sure I’ve lost some weight, even if it’s minimal but TOM started today and sometimes that means weight gain. I’ll just have to keep that in mind so I don’t get discouraged if the scale hasn’t changed or is only down a fraction of a pound. I may weigh myself again on Thursday or Friday once TOM has gone away to get a more accurate reading. We will see!

Leave a Reply

