Awful day

Today has not been a good day. This is why:

  1. I woke up with a terrible headache.
  2. The Motrin I took for my headache upset my stomach.
  3. I had to go to school anyway to run a participant for my student.
  4. The participant never showed up.

Needless to say, I was not happy. This morning I had really wanted to just curl up and go back to sleep but I dragged myself to school, only to have the participant, the reason I went in the first place, not show! Ugh!

Thankfully, I’m feeling much better now and not as bitter about the no-show. I’m taking it easy for a couple hours before I get into some school work. I’d also like to go out for a walk later if I’m feeling up to it. It’s absolutely gorgeous outside! And warm, too – the snow is melting finally! Perhaps spring is finally around the corner? And for real this time!

Healthy week is still going strong. Last night I was really tempted to take a thin sliver of cheesecake from the one in our fridge (it belongs to my roommate but he said he’d share). I normally love cheesecake, but I pinched just a tiny piece from it and tried it. I ended up not having a piece because it wasn’t that great and if I’m going to blow a bunch of calories and fat on sweets, it’s going to be fully worth it! In the past, I’ve struggled with eating sweets only to not really feel that it was worth it afterward – then the guilt sets in. I am getting better with this, but I’m still tempted sometimes.

I have just one more thing to add. Last night, I didn’t post again since I was actually being a good student and doing homework but there was something I wanted to blog about briefly. It’s typically rush hour when I’m heading home from my reading program so it gets super busy on some of the main streets. And people are always in a hurry and, from my experience, aren’t always very polite with their driving. But last night was an exception! On two separate occasions when making a left turn (I wasn’t at a light or intersection) I had cars stop to let me turn in front of them! Stuff like this really makes me smile because I love seeing strangers do nice things for others. I know it’s just a little thing, but sometimes even the small stuff can make someone’s day, even if it’s just something like allowing them to change lanes on the highway on their way home from a stressful day at work.

Anyway, just thought I’d mention that I love seeing stuff like that and because of it I was in a smiley mood when I arrived home last night!

Leave a Reply

