Busy day

Today was busy with school work! That’s what happens when I spend my whole reading week not even thinking about homework. It was nice to have the relaxation time but now I feel as though I’m behind. It’s also a weird feeling when you suddenly have a one week break from your routine. I’m used to doing the same school work each week – read 2 articles for my seminar and prepare discussion questions, complete a lesson for my online course and do a quiz, prepare materials for the reading program I’m running for my undergrad thesis. I tend to do things on specific days as well, so not having done this for a week feels strange!

Today’s meal plan was pretty typical. Breakfast was oatmeal with brown sugar and a big glass of water.

I am absolutely loving sandwiches for lunch, probably because my boyfriend and I picked up a used George Foreman grill really cheap. It hardly looks like the previous owners took it out of the box though! But anyway, grilled sandwiches are delicious.

img_3837

That’s my sandwich with oven roasted chicken breast, spinach, low-fat mayo and a bit of cheese, all toasted up. It was great. And, as usual, I had a serving of berries on the side.

I can’t wait until summer when berries are cheap all the time! For now I’m buying them on sale and stocking up. I’ve made it through one container of the strawberries I bought already but I still have another one to last until next grocery day.

Dinner was something a little different. I had a chicken breast, brown rice and a mix of steamed baby carrots and broccoli all tossed together in a sauce I made from a bit of cream of chicken soup seasoned with garlic and dried herbs. It tastes really hearty, but the sauce is low fat and low calorie! I make this type of meal when I’m craving something warm and filling and it really does the trick.

I didn’t do as well with exercise today but I still got some in. I had some errands to run but the amount of walking was only about 20 minutes. However, I took the route home that has a nice big hill to give my legs a workout!

Here’s to hoping I sleep well tonight and have the energy for a good workout tomorrow! If the weather is nice, I’d love to go for a long walk!

Leave a Reply

